jump to navigation

Only puny secrets need protection. Big discoveries are protected by public incredulity. (M. McLuhan) April 20, 2008

Posted by olvidadorio in Economics.
trackback

Check out this blogpost on loan-based economy. Especially “Money as Debt“, a thoroughly-explained, opinionated walkthrough of our monetary system:

I don’t quite agree with (or even fully follow) a few thrusts that are developed (specifically the whole business about right-out government-created money, i believe ripple offers a much better, IOU-based model), also it has been criticized that the film bluntly underplays the role that respending of interest on behalf of banks/shareholders plays to avoid money shortage, but the beginning is just right on.

But how far corrupted is the system really? I believe the fundamental problem about necessary growth is quite ingrained. I don’t think that anyone (I know of) really has a good idea of how far down the tubes our economic system may be. I dare say it’s a fair guess that it won’t be going on forever, but it doesn’t look as if it all’l be grinding to a stand-still any time soon, either.

So if there’s a risk ahead, it’s really important to get a clear idea of its “shape & texture”. What this all boils down to: “In my lifetime?” – possibly. “In my kids’ lifetime?” i’d say: quite possible. I’m 24 now – and my children will live through the big oil crisis and what not. I guess it’ll start during my lifetime, even my active lifetime.

What do you guys think?

Comments»

1. Sharing A Currency System « what? - October 6, 2008

[…] (money not backed by commodities, i.e. gold) then one should either not go for fractional reserve banking or totally not go for free-wheeling, no-state-intervention, market capitalism. Simply because this […]

2. jill - July 10, 2009

hey gabriel! i was googling my name (gotte keep on top of my copyrighted photos, eh?) and found your blog! wicked 🙂 i had no idea. well its nice to see your blog, i will read it in a minute, and thanks a ton for linking my website! i really appreciate it.
Jill


Leave a Reply

